Learning Curation Summation

 

screen-shot-2016-11-24-at-12-50-47-pm

I feel that in my learning journey through our coursework, my inquiry has come full circle.  I had asked “How can one foster the perception that the teacher-librarian is a leader in the learning community?”, and I feel like all the ground we have covered has led me to deeply realize that this can be accomplished in a variety of ways and on many different levels.  In our first module, the focus was on the library as the heart of the school.  As the course has progressed, I have an image in my mind of numerous characteristics, responsibilities, and features being woven together, meeting in the library.  It is an image that is difficult to describe, but nevertheless the connections that come together in one central place, the school library, are there.  My learning is exciting and encouraging because the glimmer of leadership potential that I had at the beginning has been continually reinforced.  It is not just about leadership as a possibility, it is about what can truly be realized and accomplished.

One’s impact on the learning community and all that can be accomplished through the school library is more than I was aware of initially.  For me, this is where collaboration and advocacy are essential.  I would expect that without the teacher-librarian shining a light on all the potential, others underestimate what is possible.  In my coursework, I have learned so much about the key roles, responsibilities, and impact of librarians and libraries.  Again, more than I first realized.  It is important to share this with and educate others so that libraries are viewed by all as the heart of the school.  I feel well-equipped to pursue a variety of means in order to foster the perception that I am a leader in my position as a teacher-librarian.  As such, my essential question has remained the same.  At the beginning of my inquiry, I webbed some big ideas that I initially had regarding TLs and leadership.  In preparation for this final submission, I have added all of the ideas and connections that we have learned about and that have stuck with me.  They are numerous and I am grateful for how this course has shaped my understanding of teacher-librarians, libraries, and the essential and meaningful work that is taking place.

 

img_3447

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I feel that in my learning journey through our coursework, my inquiry has come full circle.  I had asked “How can one foster the perception that the teacher-librarian is a leader in the learning community?”, and I feel like all the ground we have covered has led me to deeply realize that this can be accomplished in a variety of ways and on many different levels.  In our first module, the focus was on the library as the heart of the school.  As the course has progressed, I have an image in my mind of numerous characteristics, responsibilities, and features being woven together, meeting in the library.  It is an image that is difficult to describe, but nevertheless the connections that come together in one central place, the school library, are there.  My learning is exciting and encouraging because the glimmer of leadership potential that I had at the beginning has been continually reinforced.  It is not just about leadership as a possibility, it is about what can truly be realized and accomplished.

One’s impact on the learning community and all that can be accomplished through the school library is more than I had initially considered.  For me, this is where collaboration and advocacy are essential.  I would expect that without the teacher-librarian shining a light on all the potential, others underestimate what is possible.  In my coursework, I have learned so much about the key roles, responsibilities, and impact of librarians and libraries.  Again, more than I first realized.  It is important to share this with and educate others so that libraries are viewed by all as the heart of the school.  I feel well-equipped to pursue a variety of means in order to foster the perception that I am a leader in my position as a teacher-librarian.  As such, my essential question has remained the same.  At the beginning of my inquiry, I webbed some big ideas that I initially had regarding TLs and leadership.  In preparation for this final submission, I have added all of the ideas and connections that we have learned about and that have stuck with me.  They are numerous and I am grateful for how this course has shaped my understanding of teacher-librarians, libraries, and the essential and meaningful work that is taking place.

 

Leave a Reply

